/* No Google Analytics: https://croquetscores.com/2025/ac/championship-of-surrey/commentaries/27810 */
Championship of Surrey
The Final by Chris
Welcome to Surbiton! Rob & Jamie are on lawn 2, so you could always watch along on the webcams on the Surbiton site to fact check what I’m telling you here…
03 Aug 2025 9:29AM (Tournament); 1 Readers
Rob leads Jamie 14-3 in their head to heads, and he’s been looking good over the past couple of days.
Their lawn is probably the hardest/best one here, but both coped well on it yesterday.
03 Aug 2025 9:33AM (Tournament); 1 Readers
All the lawns here look great, as usual, and it’s a pretty lovely day, although there’s a notable bit of wind.
Turns out everyone’s using Dawson balls, instead of the Invictus.
03 Aug 2025 9:34AM (Tournament); 1 Readers
Anyway, they’ve tossed, and Jamie’s laid a super shot, a yard NW of 5
03 Aug 2025 9:35AM (Tournament); 1 Readers
Rob going slightly S of C2
03 Aug 2025 9:36AM (Tournament); 1 Readers
Tbh I might end up focussing on Euan v Greggers on lawn 1 - it’s fun! G hit E’s ball, left a massive double mid lawn, E missed to a yard off B baulk. G ended up rushing into worse than death position at H1, rolled both back through, ran up to the ball at H2, rolled to the ball in the middle but hit it instead of going past, and so it goes on…
03 Aug 2025 9:39AM (Tournament); 1 Readers
Anyway, Jamie missed by nothing, Rob’s hit the massive double. Rob, playing yellow, takes off from blue to leave a cut rush on red down to black - good line, but far too short, so no H2 pioneer. Red a few yards NW of H5 as he approaches 1 from a yard or so, blue still in C2.
03 Aug 2025 9:42AM (Tournament); 2 Readers
Rob’s in a hole, Jamie tells him to move it rather than faff with repairing.
Hoop made, but jumps a bit when going through, suggesting tight hoops. Rob’s getting things under control, rushed a yard or so past 2. Considers taking off to blue in C2 but decides against. Takes off to very close and good position, but the rush is pointing S of blue. Should be fine, of course.
03 Aug 2025 9:46AM (Tournament); 1 Readers
Fan mail/questions/comments to [email protected] if you like
03 Aug 2025 9:46AM (Tournament); 1 Readers
Red sent back to a yard or so NW of H2, doesn’t get a rush on blue, so big croquet stroke sending blue to H4 getting on black a few yards W of H3. Pretty good.
03 Aug 2025 9:47AM (Tournament); 1 Readers
It’s normal advanced. They didn’t know what it was best of, but Samir has said “Hopefully 5”.
Rob gets the rush to C2 after H3, fully in control. As Jamie just said, Rob is probably the best in the world at dealing with balls in corners.
03 Aug 2025 9:49AM (Tournament); 1 Readers
It’s no big issue, but Rob is slightly under hitting his croquet strokes. Everything’s where he wants now, so now it’s about the leave. Hopefully he’ll go for the sextuple, for the sake of the crowd (by which I mean me).
03 Aug 2025 9:51AM (Tournament); 1 Readers
Making 4 off partner, black nearby. No real clues to the leave yet…
03 Aug 2025 9:52AM (Tournament); 1 Readers
Boo! Black goes to 1B. His sextuple against Samir yesterday was because he’d broken down on 1B, so there’s still hope, I guess…
03 Aug 2025 9:54AM (Tournament); 1 Readers
Very straight forward 4B leave in progress. Jamie’s not averse to a TPO if he gets the chance. The lawn doesn’t appear to be crazy difficult yet, but they could just be Rob making it look easy. Diagonal spread coming up…
03 Aug 2025 10:00AM (Tournament); 2 Readers
Very horizontal. Black very tight on the peg, but sticking out to the South a bit. Looks like more than half a ball, maybe. Blue is 2-3 yards off W boundary.
03 Aug 2025 10:02AM (Tournament); 3 Readers
Rob 1&4B, Jamie 1&1.
03 Aug 2025 10:03AM (Tournament); 3 Readers
Jamie lifts black from by the peg, brings it to A baulk to shoot at red.
03 Aug 2025 10:04AM (Tournament); 3 Readers
Oh, yellow (the inner ball). But he misses slightly North.
03 Aug 2025 10:05AM (Tournament); 3 Readers
Rob’s red hits black, rushes yellow to blue. So partner won’t be at 4B straight away. Yellow ends up a yard N of blue, not ideal but I’m sure he’ll cope. Leaves yellow peg high, gets a dolly rush on blue to H1.
03 Aug 2025 10:07AM (Tournament); 4 Readers
Approaches H1 from 2.6 yards (I’m very precise). Red wobbles off slightly to the right, but it’s fine. Powers it through to level with yellow, with a 4 yarder. Blue is N of H1, level with 5. Black is kind of halfway between 3&4. Gets a rush on blue to black, partner now at 4B.
03 Aug 2025 10:10AM (Tournament); 3 Readers
Slightly over hit the rush to H2, approaching from 3.1 yards SW.
03 Aug 2025 10:11AM (Tournament); 4 Readers
Blue and yellow at 4B are good.
Black croqueted close to the boundary. 0.8y 11° hoop. Smoothly through. Everything under control. He’s quite good, I reckon.
03 Aug 2025 10:13AM (Tournament); 4 Readers
In the Big Game, Greggers (or is it Greggors?) has gone to 4B, he’s left Euan a double, as long as he’s willing to jump a hoop. But nobody would do that, right?!
03 Aug 2025 10:16AM (Tournament); 4 Readers
Euan jumps the hoop and hits. Stupid golfers!
03 Aug 2025 10:17AM (Tournament); 3 Readers
Rob’s yellow is just through, he rushes to W boundary level with 4B. Gets the rush to penult, blue is perfect at H5 for his next hoop.
03 Aug 2025 10:19AM (Tournament); 3 Readers
Rob fine-cuts blue. Looked a little strange, and he looked slightly relieved it didn’t miss. Maybe red was in a hole. Gets hoop and (intentional) croquet. Blue is now in the jaws of 1B as his pioneer.
03 Aug 2025 10:21AM (Tournament); 4 Readers
Approach from 0.6 feet is a little too delicate. Runs the hoop, but not sure he can position yellow for peeling with a delicate cut rush.
03 Aug 2025 10:22AM (Tournament); 4 Readers
What am I talking about?! He’s Rob Fulford! He cuts yellow into the hoop so it bounces back to perfect peeling position! Peels it past peg.
Croquet stroke from near H3, and remember his 1B pioneer is in the jaws. You think that’s a problem? I literally just told you he’s Rob Fulford! Plays it absolutely perfectly.
Doesn’t get a rush out of 1B, but I’m sure he’ll survive.
03 Aug 2025 10:25AM (Tournament); 6 Readers
He did indeed survive. Could’ve gone for the peel before 2B as everything is lovely, but just keeps it simple, waiting to peel before 3B.
03 Aug 2025 10:26AM (Tournament); 6 Readers
His croquet strokes are now pretty darn perfect. Does a little side-stepping before the rover peel, a la Fletcher. Goes through nicely. Rushes S of peelee after 3B, not a great position for the rush on yellow, so cuts it to level with H5, a few yards E.
03 Aug 2025 10:30AM (Tournament); 6 Readers
Avery looks to be completing his own triple, as he’s just done a straight rover peel.
03 Aug 2025 10:31AM (Tournament); 5 Readers
Since I mentioned the croquet strokes perfection, Rob’s played a couple of poor ones. Not problematic, just a bit loose.
He’s probably reading this commentary, and just doing it to spite me.
03 Aug 2025 10:33AM (Tournament); 5 Readers
Oh dear Lord, Mr Avery! It was a sextuple that he was finishing. But he forgot the rule about not swapping to an oppo’s ball after completing all the peels.
He realises as he’s lining up black and yellow for the peg out!
Deserves to get an error in the glossary named after him for that!
03 Aug 2025 10:35AM (Tournament); 4 Readers
Rob pegs out. Let’s try some formatting stuff…
Rob leads 1-0, 26tp
03 Aug 2025 10:36AM (Tournament); 5 Readers
Game 2. Rob to start. Ball swap, just to confuse matters. Black super shot, 3.3y W of H5. Jamie plays 1.8y E of peg. Bit strange, when black is so close.
Rob shoots at black from E end of A baulk. Misses by a few inches into C2. Jamie considering where to shoot from. C1 makes a break for Rob very tough, but obvs makes the shot longer. Opted to shoot at partner yellow from E end of A ball. Misses by 1.2 inches.
03 Aug 2025 10:41AM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Rob has an 8ish yarder black at yellow. Blue in C2, red N boundary between 6&3.
03 Aug 2025 10:42AM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Hits it. Now what…?
03 Aug 2025 10:42AM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Taking off to Red.
03 Aug 2025 10:42AM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Btw, in reality I’m rubbish at judging distances, so take it with a pinch of salt.
03 Aug 2025 10:42AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Weird. Takes off to W of red. Maybe he’s wiring T&Cs on h3, and will retreat to C1.
Jamie’s missed his 3 shots so far. I don’t think he’s ever missed 4 in a row.*
* stats are made up at my discretion
03 Aug 2025 10:45AM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Rob rolling from C2 down to C1. Gets blue to just outside C1 - very good!
03 Aug 2025 10:46AM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Jamie’s obliged to shoot. With yellow, the one that’s SE of H3. Veeeeeerrry close. But no.
03 Aug 2025 10:47AM (Tournament); 6 Readers
Rob puts yellow just E of H1. Rushes partner black to the hoop. No pioneer at H2, red is N boundary NW of H3, but this is so much more controlled and elegant than the horrible load and hold some people prefer.
Gets the dolly rush on yellow to H2.
03 Aug 2025 10:50AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Yellow to N boundary. Blue runs H2 next to it, leaving the rush to red. Which doesn’t go well…
03 Aug 2025 10:52AM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Cuts it off the N boundary W of H6. But a pretty nice croquet stroke leaves him a cut rush on red to H3. All good.
03 Aug 2025 10:53AM (Tournament); 5 Readers
Last game was a 6th turn finish. Error free from both players so far, technically…
03 Aug 2025 10:54AM (Tournament); 5 Readers
Poor take off from red to get a rush on yellow to black, but he’s great at cut rushes. Plays it well, fully in control now.
03 Aug 2025 10:55AM (Tournament); 6 Readers
Sun hasn’t really come out, so the lawn isn’t really getting harder. Although…
03 Aug 2025 10:56AM (Tournament); 6 Readers
Bad approach to H4 from a trivial position - didn’t see why. Over 30° and close. But runs it and hits partner black.
03 Aug 2025 10:56AM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Sextuple this time, to keep me entertained? Black is a poor pioneer at 6, so I presume Red will join it.
03 Aug 2025 10:57AM (Tournament); 6 Readers
I presumed right. Well done me.
03 Aug 2025 10:58AM (Tournament); 5 Readers
Ooh! Yellow at H5 rushed to Worse Than Death position! Which means it’s directly behind the hoop, very close.
Yellow’s a bit far to do the bouncer off thing, so he’s taking off…
03 Aug 2025 11:00AM (Tournament); 5 Readers
Pretty angled, not impossible. Most people would jump, probably, but Rob and Jamie rarely ever do that.
He runs it, roqueting yellow.
03 Aug 2025 11:01AM (Tournament); 5 Readers
Ooh, maybe some interest. Oppo as a 2B pioneer, so maybe he’s going for a quad…
03 Aug 2025 11:03AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
But he does have a habit of rushing oppo to peg after 2B so it’s probably just that.
Yeah, other oppo to 3B.
03 Aug 2025 11:04AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Webcam is being checked to see Avery’s wrong ball…
Croquet gets VAR!
03 Aug 2025 11:06AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
More people crowded round the footage than watching the final!
03 Aug 2025 11:06AM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Rob’s diagonally spreading while the review takes place.
03 Aug 2025 11:07AM (Tournament); 6 Readers
11 people involved in the review. It’s just about when he went wrong, rather than if…
03 Aug 2025 11:09AM (Tournament); 6 Readers
Rob’s finished his leave. #tidy
03 Aug 2025 11:10AM (Tournament); 5 Readers
Avery’s Red was taking off from black to get a rush on yellow to the peg. When adjusting it, he moved black instead of red, and then played black instead. That’ll haunt him…
03 Aug 2025 11:12AM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Anyway, Jamie’s lifted yellow (the E ball) to B baulk. I earlier said he’s never missed 4 in a row, but he’s definitely never missed 5, so this is guaranteed to hit…
03 Aug 2025 11:13AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Called it
03 Aug 2025 11:13AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Hits black (Rob’s H1 ball). This is Jamie’s first time taking croquet (in this match, not ever). 1&1 v Rob’s 1&4B.
03 Aug 2025 11:14AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
No rush after 1, basic roll sending partner to H3 getting to blue at H2. All good, but with the 4B ball at H2 is he gonna try the TPO?
03 Aug 2025 11:16AM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Gets a rush after H2, but it’s a few yards short. Lovely croquet stroke to send blue to peeling position, although it rocks back a little upon arrival. Approaches hoop off partner.
03 Aug 2025 11:17AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
He’s crouching to see if peelee is through. Decides it is, takes off the clip. Will make it annoying to get it to penultimate on time, though.
03 Aug 2025 11:18AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Very controlled at H4, gets the rush back to 4B, but overcuts it a bit. Tries to rush blue back through the hoop down to partner red at H5, but gets too much hoop for it to go far. But it’s fine.
03 Aug 2025 11:20AM (Tournament); 5 Readers
Both oppo balls at H6. Doesn’t get a rush out of H5.
03 Aug 2025 11:21AM (Tournament); 5 Readers
Sends Red to 1B but it goes miles too far. Only a couple of yards off the N boundary.
03 Aug 2025 11:22AM (Tournament); 6 Readers
Balls are good for the penult peel, but that 1B pioneer is a problem. And then the peel is rejected. Looks to be rush peelable, probably.
03 Aug 2025 11:24AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Rushes black to N boundary, N of 6. Excellent croquet stroke to get black to 2B and getting a rush on red.
03 Aug 2025 11:25AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
If this were a TP it’d be no sweat, but the urgency of a TPO is adding some drama. A couple of bobbly rushes don’t help, but a lovely croquet stroke after 1B leaves him the rush peel, which he smooths through.
03 Aug 2025 11:27AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Wind is really picking up, and it’s getting a bit overcast. Rush on black to 2B isn’t great, but the approach is. Much more under control now, good play.
03 Aug 2025 11:28AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Black’s a bit short as a 4B pioneer, but no big deal. Peeling rover before 3B. Not a great attempt, but again leaves it good for rush peeling.
03 Aug 2025 11:30AM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Re-stalks 3B. But he’s a-okay.
03 Aug 2025 11:30AM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Looks like he’s going to peelee for the rush peel. Bit risky, maybe. And he’s short - pretty much horizontal. He’s not rush peeling that.
03 Aug 2025 11:31AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Except he is and he does. God knows how. Burchian, I guess…
03 Aug 2025 11:32AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Take off your black at 4B is a bit short. Leaves a 2.8 yarder at it. But he hits it gently, centre ball. Lovely shot.
03 Aug 2025 11:33AM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Black (Rob’s H1 ball) is perfect at rover, peelee is by the peg, making penult off partner.
03 Aug 2025 11:34AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Corners 2&4 for his balls, I presume. He’ll be giving Rob contact, naturally.
03 Aug 2025 11:35AM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Through rover
03 Aug 2025 11:36AM (Tournament); 7 Readers
So for the contact leave, he won’t care where he leaves Rob’s ball, as Rob could take contact (or a lift) anyway.
Jamie’s found the exact spot on the east boundary to leave H4 in the way of rolling to H1. These little things that the good players do can make such a difference.
03 Aug 2025 11:38AM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Blue is pegged out.
The crowd boo Jamie for not pegging his own ball out.
Rob 1 & box v Jamie 1 & peg
03 Aug 2025 11:40AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Rob approaching H1 off the ball on the E boundary. Kind of in front. 2.4 yards, 34°
Rejected, but stays in front, quite angled. Jamie having a look to decide if it’s runnable. Doesn’t take the risk, corners. Jamie’s h1 ball in C4, peg ball in C2. Rob wants a ref for this angled hoop. Mully to the rescue!
03 Aug 2025 11:43AM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Doesn’t look too tough.
Runs it up to 4.1 yards S of H2. Shooting at Jamie’s ball in C2…
03 Aug 2025 11:44AM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Clips it
03 Aug 2025 11:45AM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Mully filmed the hoop stroke. Probably just for the interest.
03 Aug 2025 11:45AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Brilliant roll to H2 from C2 by Rob. And then he does a massive sneeze. I’m bringing you all the important news!
03 Aug 2025 11:46AM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Rushes to near C3. Good approach to H3.
03 Aug 2025 11:48AM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Jamie’s H1 ball still in C4.
03 Aug 2025 11:48AM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Rob would love to get a rush to it, and that looks do-able…
03 Aug 2025 11:48AM (Tournament); 10 Readers
If he runs the hoop, that is. He smashed it, was a bit angled. Can’t imagine he was running it to the S boundary.
Jamie’s yellow (peg ball) hits black. 5ish yarder. Thick take off, black N boundary near 6. He hits partner in C4.
03 Aug 2025 11:51AM (Tournament); 11 Readers
Big moments. Having hit black, Jamie needs to leave Rob open on one of his balls. Ideally, the other won’t be rushable to H3.
03 Aug 2025 11:52AM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Rob looking to shoot. If he does, it probably decides this game. Hits, he wins, misses and he loses.
So he finesses into C4.
03 Aug 2025 11:53AM (Tournament); 10 Readers
I hate that term - “finesses”.
Jamie approaches H1. Ball clearly goes in a hole, but he plays it anyway. Weak (semi hampered) rush to 2. Rolls up nicely.
03 Aug 2025 11:55AM (Tournament); 11 Readers
Doesn’t really get the rush to 3. Cuts it off N of 6.
03 Aug 2025 11:55AM (Tournament); 11 Readers
Going back W on the N boundary, to attempt to get wired position
03 Aug 2025 11:56AM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Rob to C1.
03 Aug 2025 11:56AM (Tournament); 12 Readers
Not the best rush to H3 by Jamie. Bit weak. Looking for a wired spot in C3. 3 & peg (Jamie) v 3 & box.
Dunno if Rob’s go to C2 now.
03 Aug 2025 11:59AM (Tournament); 11 Readers
Interesting. Rob very carefully plays from C1 to a couple of inches E of C1. I guess to prevent Jamie from getting a corner cannon.
Jamie runs H3 to tie the score 15-15. So maybe he’ll make one more hoop, then waste time for 2.5 hours to get the win. I know my tactics.
But Jamie gets hoop and roquet. Retires to the E boundary, half way up, wires from Rob with a rush to H4. Rob deems.
03 Aug 2025 12:02PM (Tournament); 5 Readers
Jamie runs H4 with a rush to 5, but underhits it. Eurgh. 3.6y E of the hoop. Lovely approach, partner just past peg. Runs 5, hits the peg, and bounces off to leave perfect position on yellow. Runs 6.
03 Aug 2025 12:04PM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Think he could’ve rushed to 1B if he’d really wanted, but takes the safe route, rushing to N boundary, and wiring N of 1B. Rob’s still in C1.
Maybe Jamie’s going to peel 1B.
03 Aug 2025 12:06PM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Rob’s thinking
03 Aug 2025 12:06PM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Seems to be considering C3.
03 Aug 2025 12:06PM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Hmmm… 3.8y W of C3. Wonder why!
Jamie sets up for hoop and roquet at 1B. But the rush doesn’t get past level with H5. Will have to retreat, as Rob now has a lift. Mid W boundary and C2 is an option, I guess, considering Rob’s ball is for H3
03 Aug 2025 12:09PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Yay! I was right! I’m a tactics master! Jamie’s 2B ball (red) is in C2, peg ball is halfway up W boundary. Guess Rob’ll shoot from B at the ball in C2.
03 Aug 2025 12:11PM (Tournament); 6 Readers
And that’s what he’s doing. Even if he hits, it’s not easy. But it won’t be particularly easy for either of them.
03 Aug 2025 12:12PM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Looked like a very clean shot, but missed. Jamie leaves black behind with a thickish take off. And gets perfect position to rush yellow from the W boundary to 2B - phenomenal shot!
03 Aug 2025 12:13PM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Grovels 2B. Luckily can still see yellow. Looking at C4 for a leave. Obviously has to leave one ball open for Rob.
03 Aug 2025 12:14PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Rob being slightly E of C2.
03 Aug 2025 12:15PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
I can’t tell which one Rob can see, but he’s definitely tempted.
03 Aug 2025 12:16PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
He almost has to. Jamie is obviously capable of running 4 hoops with 2 balls. Gotta shoot at some point…
03 Aug 2025 12:17PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Aims at red, not too close. Jamie has a 3BB to level up the match.
03 Aug 2025 12:18PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Doesn’t send black much past 3B. Approaching off r partner. Runs it to black. Not trivial to get black near penult while getting a rush to 4B…
03 Aug 2025 12:19PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Does okay, 3y approach to 4B. Plays it well. Rushes partner to black, I think, but cuts it nicely to Penult instead. Black is near the peg. Penult run, rushing black. Good enough. Approaching from 1y NW.
03 Aug 2025 12:22PM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Runs rover, centres black back to yellow. Will try to peg out both in one stroke. Fails that bit, but pegs out regardless.
03 Aug 2025 12:23PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Jamie wins game 2 +11TPO. Match score 1-1
03 Aug 2025 12:24PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Game 3 - Jamie supershot, W of H5. Same as Game 1, and Rob is going just S of C2, same as game 1. Jamie missed last time…
03 Aug 2025 12:26PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Creams it this time, lovely shot. Now for the roll out of C2 getting to black. Not a great shot. Weirdly sends red S, so it’s between 1&2. Ends up pretty directly N of partner. Decent attempt at the cut, but approach is a bit short. Tricky hoop…
03 Aug 2025 12:28PM (Tournament); 5 Readers
That he runs easily.
03 Aug 2025 12:28PM (Tournament); 4 Readers
Not much space between black and red, so only gets black to H6ish. Not a great rush to H2, but a good approach. Nearly misses the 2 yarder at red after H2!
03 Aug 2025 12:30PM (Tournament); 6 Readers
Doesn’t get behind black for a rush to H3. Will take off from about halfway between peg and H3.
03 Aug 2025 12:32PM (Tournament); 6 Readers
Longish hoop, runs it sweetly down to his H4 pioneer. Ignores black and approaches H4. Lots of wire, but fine and dandy.
03 Aug 2025 12:33PM (Tournament); 5 Readers
Gets the rush back to black. Almost feels under control!
03 Aug 2025 12:33PM (Tournament); 5 Readers
Makes 5 off partner. Oppo is a few yards E of peg. Decent shot, just avoiding the peg with partner, now it’s under control.
03 Aug 2025 12:35PM (Tournament); 5 Readers
Presuming 4B with 3 ducks
03 Aug 2025 12:36PM (Tournament); 5 Readers
No rush out of 1B, which’ll be a minor irritant.
03 Aug 2025 12:37PM (Tournament); 5 Readers
From the croquet stroke from 1B, loading 3B going to 2B, Jamie goes into the hoop at 2B, but it’s not a disaster. Could’ve been very unlucky there.
03 Aug 2025 12:38PM (Tournament); 4 Readers
Approach from close to 3B means it’s fairly impossible to get a rush to the W boundary, so he rolls over there instead. Luckily 3 ducks never has to be precise.
03 Aug 2025 12:40PM (Tournament); 4 Readers
Blue (4B) halfway up W boundary. Red (1) a yard E, black (1) 1.1 yards E of red. Quack.
03 Aug 2025 12:41PM (Tournament); 4 Readers
Rob shoots from A at Red (I think). Misses into C2.
03 Aug 2025 12:42PM (Tournament); 5 Readers
Lunch is being served, but Jamie’s stomach is not his master, so play goes on.
03 Aug 2025 12:43PM (Tournament); 6 Readers
Decent stopshot on red to H2, okay rush on partner to H1.
03 Aug 2025 12:44PM (Tournament); 6 Readers
No rush after 1, which is a pain. But a superb croquet stroke from H1 to get partner a foot from 4B and a 2 yarder at the ball in C2.
Doesn’t try too much to send oppo to 4B, just gets it to H6, focussing on getting his rush to H2, which he does.
03 Aug 2025 12:46PM (Tournament); 6 Readers
And now it’s set up for a very standard triple
03 Aug 2025 12:47PM (Tournament); 7 Readers
His peeling was a bit ropey on the TPO, so let’s see if he’s fixed that now…
03 Aug 2025 12:48PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Not massively. Peelee is just through 4B.
03 Aug 2025 12:49PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Gets the rush after 4, straight up to N of 4B.
03 Aug 2025 12:50PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Very similar to the TPO atm
03 Aug 2025 12:50PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Rushes peelee to peeling position at penult. Would be tempting for some players, but he just takes off.
03 Aug 2025 12:51PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Nearly gets the rush out of 5, just slightly too much so roquets the reception ball. No big deal.
03 Aug 2025 12:52PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Peelee isn’t perfectly placed at penult. He played it into position before approaching the hoop with oppo.
Turns out he’s good at difficult peels. Through by a foot or so.
03 Aug 2025 12:53PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Still no errors from either player, I think. I don’t think you can count Rob missing H3 on a 2 ball break as an error.
03 Aug 2025 12:55PM (Tournament); 11 Readers
Lovely croquet stroke from near the W boundary sends peelee plum in front of rover before 2B.
03 Aug 2025 12:56PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
And a beautiful stroke after 2B to send oppo to 4B with a tiny rush on peelee to rover. Peels it nicely by 2.7 yards.
03 Aug 2025 12:58PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Ew! Angled 3B…
03 Aug 2025 12:58PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
But he just runs it. He is Jamie Burch, after all.
03 Aug 2025 12:58PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Through 4B
03 Aug 2025 1:00PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Through penult
03 Aug 2025 1:01PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Blobs rover!!!
03 Aug 2025 1:02PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Only joking, lolz!
03 Aug 2025 1:02PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Jamie wins game 3 +26TP Jamie leads 2-1 in the best of 5
03 Aug 2025 1:03PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
36 minutes for that game #speedmerchant
03 Aug 2025 1:03PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
They’re gonna have some lunch now. Back in a bit…
03 Aug 2025 1:07PM (Tournament); 11 Readers
Aaaaasnd we’re back!
03 Aug 2025 1:31PM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Gratuitous formatting - Game 4
03 Aug 2025 1:32PM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Red and yellow one the first two games, but blue and black won the third.
Rob is R&Y this time. And exactly the same as Game 2 he goes W of H5, and exactly the same as Game 2 Jamie goes E of peg, and exactly not the same as Game 2 Rob hits partner. Immediately under control with the 3 ball break, approaching 1.
03 Aug 2025 1:34PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Seems lawn 3 is the designated lawn for tomfoolery. Just now Mully rushed his ball between 2 double banked balls, and then picked up one of said double banked balls to take croquet with it…
03 Aug 2025 1:36PM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Nick Parish is LIVID! He demands to know why it isn’t Super Advanced. I don’t actually know the answer, but I’d suspect Jamie is obviously very good at hitting in, and Rob is exceptional at croquet strokes, so maybe slightly in J’s favour to go normal advanced.
But anyway, Rob’s in trouble…
03 Aug 2025 1:38PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
He’s grovelled H2 out of nowhere, and has left a nasty hampered shot at partner.
He’s going for a sweep, watched by Mister Chris Clarke…
03 Aug 2025 1:39PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
It’s a miss (but clean). Looked a bit more pokey than sweepy, although my angle wasn’t great and I’m too lazy to move for your benefit, dear reader.
03 Aug 2025 1:40PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
So Rob on 1&3, Jamie fourth turn hits the 7ish yarder at Rob’s red with blue.
03 Aug 2025 1:42PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
The rush to 1 is not one Jamie will be putting on his TikTok of his greatest ever shots @SilverBurchCroquetSkilkz). Ends up a few yards N of H1. Takes off, 2.9 yard hoop. Strokes it into the wire, but the ball decides to go through anyway. Hampered shot at partner, misses by a whisker.
03 Aug 2025 1:45PM (Tournament); 11 Readers
After my inane chat about error free turns, in my book that’s 1 all now. But I’m a harsh critic.
03 Aug 2025 1:46PM (Tournament); 12 Readers
Rob shooting red (his H3 ball) from H2 at yellow, just East of the peg. Misses. Jamie’s already joined up, so should go round.
03 Aug 2025 1:47PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Luckily they’ve put Wilko on lawn 1, so I can watch some quality croquet instead.
03 Aug 2025 1:48PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Jamie rushes to S boundary, thick take off to red on the E boundary, sends that to 3 and gets an okayish rush to H2. Runs it without touching the sides.
03 Aug 2025 1:49PM (Tournament); 7 Readers
Apparently there’s rain coming fairly soon, but it’s currently really quite clement.
03 Aug 2025 1:51PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Jamie’s basically in control of the break now.
03 Aug 2025 1:52PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
All 3 balls south of 5 before 5, so he’s tidying them up
03 Aug 2025 1:53PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Nicely done. Partner at 6.
03 Aug 2025 1:53PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Hoop 5 shot was a bit wobbly, but made its way through the hoop
03 Aug 2025 1:54PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Both oppo balls at 1B. Maybe NSL’ing, as Rob’s on 1&3…?
03 Aug 2025 1:57PM (Tournament); 12 Readers
Yeah, red (for hoop 3) is left near W boundary, about level with 6
03 Aug 2025 1:58PM (Tournament); 13 Readers
Partner isn’t great at 3B, being NW of the hoop instead of NE. 3B shot is angled. The crowd (too) loudly exclaim Oohs. I’ve seen him do this before, though. And he does. Easily.
03 Aug 2025 2:01PM (Tournament); 11 Readers
But madness?! Positions yellow on H4 nicely, but rolls black off with blue short. Yellow can’t see either, but surely he didn’t mean that?!
03 Aug 2025 2:02PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Rob’s shooting from A baulk, south of H1, so presumably has a double…
03 Aug 2025 2:03PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
But misses!
03 Aug 2025 2:03PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Standard TP for Jamie to win the Surrey Championship. No pressure…
03 Aug 2025 2:04PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Jamie’s checking if yellow (on goop 4) rushes to H1. I know I mis-spelled “hoop” there, but I like it, so I’m not fixing it.
03 Aug 2025 2:05PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Seems yellow will rush to 1, and that’s what he’s attempting now…
03 Aug 2025 2:05PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Not to be too harsh, but that was a bit rubbish. A few yards ENE. Take off looks short, but is actually ideal.
03 Aug 2025 2:06PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Rush on oppo after 1 hits H5 and stops pretty dead. Sends it to H4 instead. Rushes partner towards oppo red which is a vague H2 pioneer nearer 6, tidies it up nicely.
03 Aug 2025 2:08PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Gets the rush on oppo to partner at 4B. Or I thought he did, but it’s ended up near 6.
03 Aug 2025 2:09PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
He’s played a few very nice croquet strokes throughout this match, to make up for imperfect rushes. Which is supposed to be the opposite of what he does, isn’t it?!
03 Aug 2025 2:10PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
And here’s the rain
03 Aug 2025 2:10PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Oh dear. Misapproached 3 (I think), and has scattered. Very good scatter to be fair - sends oppo red to W boundary by 1, keeping his own balls together.
03 Aug 2025 2:12PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
I say “together”, it’s a 7.3 yarder. Rob shoots at them with yellow from H4, and misses.
03 Aug 2025 2:13PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Jamie clubs blue to N boundary, sends it as a reception ball for H3 going to yellow on N boundary. Load ‘n’ hold, baby!
03 Aug 2025 2:15PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Weak L&H. Think he might’ve taking some of the lawn in that shot. Tough hoop - 2.8 yards 31°
03 Aug 2025 2:16PM (Tournament); 11 Readers
But I’ve already explained this - he’s Jamie Burch. Runs it beautifully.
03 Aug 2025 2:16PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Grovels a much easier H4, but he’s fine. Sends yellow to 6, going to red on the W boundary. Partner is good at H5.
03 Aug 2025 2:17PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
It’s windy and a bit horrible now. His croquet stroke sends red way North of 4B (putting it there so he can position or peel partner after 5)
03 Aug 2025 2:19PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Rushes partner blue to E boundary, level-ish with 6. Knocks blue in lawn - probably vaguely aimed at the hoop - getting nicely behind red.
03 Aug 2025 2:20PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
This delayed triple is getting more delayed by the moment…
03 Aug 2025 2:21PM (Tournament); 11 Readers
Ah, tasty! He’s left partner and his 2B pioneer at 4B. Normally that’d be fairly standard, but this wind…
03 Aug 2025 2:22PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
A lovely rush on red after 1B to near C3. Gets red to a few yards north of 3B, great position on blue for the peel. Peels nicely, now the rush…
And now some text that doesn’t end with…
03 Aug 2025 2:24PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Dammit
03 Aug 2025 2:24PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Good rush, 1.18 yards E of 2B. 3 yarder to rush back to 4B. Instead cuts it N of H6. Then he says a naughty word.
03 Aug 2025 2:25PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Lovely split roll. Yellow at penult, gets a rush on blue in that kind of direction.
03 Aug 2025 2:26PM (Tournament); 11 Readers
Thick take off down to red at 3B. It’s okay, not great.
03 Aug 2025 2:27PM (Tournament); 11 Readers
Super rush. Controlled 2 yarder, beautiful.
03 Aug 2025 2:27PM (Tournament); 11 Readers
But doesn’t get the rush out of 3B.
03 Aug 2025 2:27PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
But who needs rushes when you can play croquet strokes like that?! Peelee was NW of penult, and he rolls past it from 3B leaving a rush to penult!
03 Aug 2025 2:29PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Uh-oh…
03 Aug 2025 2:29PM (Tournament); 11 Readers
Peel attempt bounced off to the east. Ended between his ball and the 4B pioneer.
03 Aug 2025 2:30PM (Tournament); 11 Readers
Ridiculously bad luck
03 Aug 2025 2:30PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Tries the jump, catches partner. Rob is in…
03 Aug 2025 2:31PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Rob’s playing with his H3 ball (red). Has all the balls, can do what he likes.
Rob Red (H3) & Yellow (H1) v Jamie Blue (penult) & Black (4B). Jamie leads 2-1 in the best of 5
03 Aug 2025 2:33PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Rob runs 3. Not sure there’s anything interesting for him to do v 4B & penult. Probably a defensive 4B leave, joined in C2 with Jamie halfway up W boundary and C4?
03 Aug 2025 2:35PM (Tournament); 11 Readers
Rob’s taking a moment to decide what he wants to do.
03 Aug 2025 2:35PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
I’ve got Hula Hoops. Seems my stupid fingers are too fat to put them on, though. Makes me think the Hula Hoops have got smaller.
03 Aug 2025 2:37PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Slightly angled H4, plays it nicely.
03 Aug 2025 2:37PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Hmmm… yellow and black at 6/penult. Not sure why. Black’s for 4B, so can’t be for peeling.
03 Aug 2025 2:39PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Ohhh… duh! Sextuple time, baby!
03 Aug 2025 2:40PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Nope
03 Aug 2025 2:40PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Blue goes to 1B. I’m confused.
03 Aug 2025 2:40PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Makes 6 off partner, which he sends to 2B
03 Aug 2025 2:41PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Blue (for penult) sent as the 3B pioneer. Few yards short, but still got black to send over to double up pioneers.
03 Aug 2025 2:43PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
I guess we’ll find out momentarily what his plan is
03 Aug 2025 2:45PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
He’s made 3B
03 Aug 2025 2:46PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Oh. Boring boring NSL, it seems.
03 Aug 2025 2:46PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Black is by H4 in seemingly NSL position. Blue gets croqueted to a few yards off W a bit S of H6. Doesn’t get a perfect rush on partner to position, but is fine. His balls are a bit further North than a usual NSL.
03 Aug 2025 2:49PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Jamie’s having a look around…
03 Aug 2025 2:50PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Takes blue from near H2 to B baulk. He’s already hit one of these today…
03 Aug 2025 2:50PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Using blue (for penult) means he doesn’t give a lift if he makes hoops.
03 Aug 2025 2:51PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Which he may well do, cos he’s only gone and hit in!
03 Aug 2025 2:51PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
He cut yellow off the lawn, so it’s still near red. Pretty ideal! Poked yellow a bit towards 4B (just getting it in-lawn), rushes red down to black, red goes to rover, black is rushed to penult, a couple of yards E.
03 Aug 2025 2:53PM (Tournament); 11 Readers
Hoop and roquet on partner. Barely touched the sides.
03 Aug 2025 2:54PM (Tournament); 11 Readers
Rolls partner black to E boundary, getting a rush on yellow to red at rover.
03 Aug 2025 2:54PM (Tournament); 12 Readers
Runs rover. Rushes yellow to H1 (its hoop). Takes off back to red. Rushes red to E boundary level with H4. Takes off to black. Leaves a 4 yarder on black, pointing at C3. Hits it to a yard W of C3.
03 Aug 2025 2:58PM (Tournament); 11 Readers
More importantly, Wilko’s on a quad!
03 Aug 2025 2:58PM (Tournament); 11 Readers
He hasn’t made any peels yet, but it’s the intention that matters.
03 Aug 2025 2:59PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Obvs Rob wants to play yellow, his H1 ball. Not sure if Jamie’s balls are wired from yellow, but y at red is the shortest shot.
03 Aug 2025 3:00PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Wilko peels 3B. Into the jaws of 4B! #croquetmaster
03 Aug 2025 3:01PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Rob’s still thinking…
03 Aug 2025 3:01PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
He’s stood by Red, looking at Jamie’s balls in C3.
03 Aug 2025 3:02PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Yellow W boundary, bit south of H1, Red level with H4 on the E boundary. Didn’t think they were wired from each other. Jamie with a rush to 4B in C3.
Rob is shooting yellow at Jamie’s balls…
03 Aug 2025 3:03PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Misses
03 Aug 2025 3:03PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Quite right in C3, so Jamie can’t get yellow out too far. It’s now NNE of 4B. Blue goes W of 4B, hoop has been run.
03 Aug 2025 3:04PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Wilko missed a short shot after 2 peels of his quad.
03 Aug 2025 3:05PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Yellow sent to just S of peg, a bit West. Partner rushed nicely to penult.
03 Aug 2025 3:06PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
One hoop remains…
03 Aug 2025 3:06PM (Tournament); 9 Readers
Perfect rush to rover
03 Aug 2025 3:06PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
And he’s through
03 Aug 2025 3:07PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
1 foot peg out. He’s good at these…
03 Aug 2025 3:07PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
Jamie Burch Wins!
03 Aug 2025 3:08PM (Tournament); 10 Readers
+17 in the fourth game, 3-1
03 Aug 2025 3:09PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Ooh! Fight!
03 Aug 2025 3:09PM (Tournament); 8 Readers
Nah, not really. They’re all too nice for that.
I’m done, thanks for reading!
03 Aug 2025 3:09PM (Tournament); 7 Readers
At 04 Aug 2025 7:29PM (Tournament) there are 0 people reading commentaries.